Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Research Training Groups and Graduate Schools

 

KSETA successful in the first line of funding of the Excellence Initiative II

The Karlsruhe School of Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology (KSETA)  is an essential component of the KIT Center Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics (KCETA).

PhD students from the fields of physics as well as engineering science work together on theoretical investigations and on large experiments regarding questions of basic research as well as the development of modern technologies. They are involved in interdisciplinary global projects, to which KCETA supplies leading-edge contributions. Among others this is the Pierre Auger Observatory for cosmic rays in Argentina, the particle detector CMS at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, the KArlsruhe TRItium Neutrino (KATRIN) experiment, the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) on the International Space Station (ISS) and the underground detector EDELWEISS for the Dark Matter search.
KSETA offers special training, builds bridges between physicists and engineers and thus establishes an excellent basis for joint research.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Nierste
Press release

 

 

GRK 1694

The  Graduate Research Training Group GRK 1694 "Elementary particle physics at highest energy and precision" studies experimental and theoretical elementary particle physics at KCETA.
The research areas of the RTG mirror the most recent developments in particle physics. The KIT groups are deeply involved in experiments at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, in Belle in Tsukuba and KATRIN in Karlsruhe. Theoretical work focuses on new methods for higher order corrections in quantum field theory and their application to phenomenological problems, aiming at better predictions of observables within the Standard Model and beyond. A second focal point is the development of Monte Carlo programs.
International networking is intrinsic to research in particle physics and an integral part of this RTG. It builds on experiences gained with the DFG funded RTG GRK 742 "High Energy Physics and Particle Astrophysics" which expired in 2010. The Graduate Research Training Group offers unique opportunities for the education of young scientists at KCETA.

Spokesperson: Prof. Dr. Dieter Zeppenfeld

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Graduiertenkollegs und Graduiertenschulenschulen am KCETA

 

KSETA erfolgreich in der ersten Förderlinie der Exzellenzinitiative II

Die Karlsruhe School of Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology (KSETA)  – Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik: Wissenschaft und Technologie ist ein zentraler Baustein des KIT-Zentrums Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik KCETA.

Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus Physik und Ingenieurwissenschaften arbeiten hier gemeinsam an  theoretischen Untersuchungen und an Großgeräten zu Fragen aus der Grundlagenforschung sowie an der Entwicklung moderner Technologien. Die Promovierenden sind in interdisziplinäre Projekte auf der ganzen Welt eingebunden, zu denen KCETA teilweise führende Beiträge liefert. Diese sind unter anderem das Pierre Auger-Observatorium für kosmische Strahlung in Argentinien, der Teilchendetektor CMS am Large Hadron Collider (LHC) am CERN, das KArlsruhe TRItium Neutrino (KATRIN) Experiment, das Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) auf der internationalen Raumstation (ISS) und der Untergrunddetektor EDELWEISS für die Suche nach Dunkler Materie.

KSETA bietet eine Spezialausbildung, baut Brücken zwischen Physikern und Ingenieuren und bildet so eine ausgezeichnete Basis für die gemeinsame Forschung.

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Nierste
Presseinformation 

 

 

GRK 1694

Das GRK 1694 „Elementarteilchenphysik bei höchster Energie und höchster Präzision“ forscht im Bereich der experimentellen und theoretischen Teilchenphysik am KCETA.

Das Forschungsprofil dieses Kollegs orientiert sich an den neuesten Entwicklungen in der Elementarteilchenphysik, an denen die Karlsruher Gruppen stark beteiligt sind. Dazu gehören Experimente am Large Hadron Collider (LHC), die Präzisionsexperimente Belle in Tsukuba und KATRIN in Karlsruhe. Schwerpunkte der theoretischen Forschung am KIT sind neue Methoden zur Berechnung höherer Ordnungen der Störungstheorie und ihre Anwendung zur präzisen Vorhersage von Observablen im Standardmodell und seinen Erweiterungen, sowie die Entwicklung von Monte Carlo Programmen.

Das Kolleg ist aufgrund der wissenschaftlichen Fragestellung international vernetzt. Es baut auf Erfahrungen des DFG-Graduiertenkollegs GRK 742 "Hochenergiephysik und Teilchenastrophysik" auf, das 2010 auslief. Das Graduiertenkolleg bietet einzigartige Möglichkeiten für die Ausbildung und Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses am KCETA.

Sprecher: Prof. Dr. Dieter Zeppenfeld