Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | KIT
Sprecher des Graduiertenkollegs

Prof. Dr. D. Zeppenfeld

Institut für Theoretische Physik

Tel: +49 721 608-43553

Fax: +49 721 608-43582

E-Mail

Kontakt

Isabelle Junge

GK Koordination

Tel.: +49 721 608-44707

Fax.: +49 721 608-48369

E-Mail

Elementary particle physics at highest energy and precision

Schloss Karlsruhe

The research training group has been established to educate PhD students in the field of experimental and theoretical elementary particle physics at highest energies (LHC) and precision (KATRIN, Belle). It is funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) and succeeds the research training group “High-energy Physics and Particle Astrophysics” that ended in late 2010. The present research training group focuses on terrestrial elementary particle physics.

 

Research Profile

The research profile of this research training group considers the latest developments in experimental and theoretical elementary particle physics, in which the groups from Karlsruhe are involved.

 

Experimental Research

Experimental research includes

  • the experiments at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) performed since March 2010 to study highest energies,
  • the Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment (KATRIN), and 
  • precision experiments at Belle, Tsukuba, Japan.

New ground will be entered in terms of energy and precision: At LHC, we are looking for new particles, such as the Higgs boson and potential supersymmetric particles. At Belle, rare B-decays can be studied. The KATRIN experiment is aimed at the absolute determination of the neutrino mass. Other important aspects of our work are the development of improved analysis methods and detectors in LHC and flavor physics.

 

Theoretical Research

Theoretical research at KIT focuses on new methods for the calculation of higher orders of perturbation theory and their application for the precise prediction of observables in the standard model and its extensions. In addition, scattering processes are studied theoretically at the LHC. The scope of work extends from improved predictions in Higgs physics to calculations for the search for new particles based on e.g. supersymmetric theories and studies for the unification of all forces.

 

Promotion of Young Scientists

This program offers unique opportunities for the education and promotion of young scientists based on our interdisciplinary character, exchange between theory and experiment, and interaction between application-oriented and fundamental research. Internationality results from participation in international collaborations, an EU network, and an international guest scientists program.

A structured and regularly offered teaching program familiarizes PhD students with current research topics, such that they can perform their work under optimum framework conditions. Within the research training group, scientific problems are studied in international cooperation.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
Sprecher des Graduiertenkollegs

Prof. Dr. D. Zeppenfeld

Institut für Theoretische Physik

Tel: +49 721 608-43553

Fax: +49 721 608-43582

E-Mail

Kontakt

Isabelle Junge

GK Koordination

Tel.: +49 721 608-44707

Fax.: +49 721 608-48369

E-Mail

Elementarteilchenphysik bei höchster Energie und höchster Präzision

Schloss Karlsruhe

Das Graduiertenkolleg bündelt die Ausbildung von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden im Bereich der experimentellen und theoretischen Elementarteilchenphysik bei höchsten Energien (LHC) und höchster Präzision (KATRIN, Belle). Gefördert von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) schließt es mit dem Fokus auf terrestrische Elementarteilchenphysik an das Ende 2010 ausgelaufene Graduiertenkolleg „Hochenergiephysik und Teilchenastrophysik“ an.

 

Forschungsprofil

Das Forschungsprofil dieses Kollegs orientiert sich an den neuesten Entwicklungen in der experimentellen und theoretischen Elementarteilchenphysik, an denen die Karlsruher Gruppen stark beteiligt sind.

 

Experimentelle Forschung

Dazu gehören

  • Experimente am Large Hadron Collider (LHC), der seit März 2010 höchste Energien erschließt,
  • das Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment (KATRIN) und
  • die Präzisionsexperimente an Belle in Tsukuba, Japan.

Damit werden wir bei Energie und Präzision physikalisches Neuland betreten: Am LHC suchen wir nach neuen Teilchen wie dem Higgs-Boson und möglichen supersymmetrischen Teilchen; bei Belle können seltene B-Zerfälle studiert werden, und das KATRIN-Experiment zielt auf die absolute Bestimmung der Neutrinomasse ab. Weitere wichtige Aspekte unserer Arbeit sind die Entwicklung von verbesserten Analysemethoden und Detektoren im Bereich der LHC- und der Flavourphysik.

 

Theoretische Forschung

Ein Schwerpunkt der theoretischen Forschung am KIT sind neue Methoden zur Berechnung höherer Ordnungen der Störungstheorie und ihre Anwendung zur präzisen Vorhersage von Observablen im Standardmodell und seinen Erweiterungen. Weiter werden in der Theorie Streuprozesse am LHC untersucht. Dabei reicht das Spektrum von verbesserten Vorhersagen in der Higgs-Physik bis zu Berechnungen für die Suche nach neuen Teilchen aus z.B. supersymmetrischen Theorien und Untersuchungen zur Vereinheitlichung aller Kräfte.

 

Nachwuchsförderung

Die Beteiligung an diesem Programm bietet für die Ausbildung und Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses einzigartige Möglichkeiten: Sie entspringen zum einen unserer Interdisziplinarität, im Austausch zwischen Theorie und Experiment und dem Wechselspiel zwischen anwendungs- und grundlagenorientierter Forschung. Zum anderen bieten wir Internationalität, durch die Einbindung in internationale Kollaborationen, ein EU-Netzwerk und ein international ausgerichtetes Gastwissenschaftlerprogramm.

Doktorand/inn/en werden durch ein strukturiertes und regelmäßig angebotenes Lehrprogramm an aktuelle Themen der Forschung herangeführt, um ihre Arbeiten unter optimalen Rahmenbedingungen durchführen zu können. Das Kolleg ist aufgrund der wissenschaftlichen Fragestellung international vernetzt.

 

 

[1] picture by: nasebaer (www.flickr.com), Copyright: creative commons (by, nc ,nd)