Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Julius Wess Award

KCETA grants the Julius Wess Award for Outstanding Achievements in Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics

The research award is granted to elementary particle or astroparticle physicists for outstanding experimental or theoretical scientific achievements, which extend and deepen our understanding of the fundamental laws of nature. At the opening event of KCETA in November 2008, the award was granted for the first time to Nobel Prize laureate Professor Dr. Frank Wilczek, who had acknowledged the significance of Julius Wess for the theory of elementary particles at a large international conference on supersymmetry in Karlsruhe in summer 2007 already.

The Julius Wess Award is dedicated to the memory of Professor Dr. Julius Wess, who worked tirelessly for theoretical and experimental elementary particle physics and published numerous internationally famous papers during the twenty years he spent at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. Concepts of quantum field theory, such as the Wess-Zumino anomaly or the formulation of the first supersymmetric quantum field theory, the Wess-Zumino model, will always be associated with his name.  

The dedication of the award is linked with a lecture course of the laureates at KIT, open for all students. These lectures find a lively interest and contribute effectively in imparting newest research results to the undergraduate and PhD students of KCETA.


Julius Wess Award 2017

With great pleasure we awarded Prof. Francis Halzen the Julius Wess Award 2017 in recognition of his outstanding scientific achievements in the field of astroparticle physics and his leading role within the international IceCube experiment.



Julius Wess Awards have been given to:

Robert Klanner (2016)
(picture credit: DESY )


Lisa Randall (2015)
(picture credit: KIT)


Arkady Vainshtein (2014)
(picture credit: Vainshtein)


Takaaki Kajita (2013)
(picture credit: KIT)


Peter Jenni und Michel Della Negra (2012)
(picture credit: KIT)


Guido Altarelli (2011)
(picture credit: INFN)


Valery Rubakov (2010)
(picture credit: KIT)


Jonathan Ellis (2009)
(picture credit: CERN)


Frank Wilczek (2008)
(picture credit: Amity Wilczek)