Julius Wess Award 2022

Presentation of the Julius Wess Award 2022 to Prof. Dr. Elena Aprile, Columbia University
KIT / Sandra Göttisheim
f.l.t.r.: K. Link (Management KCETA), A.-S. Müller (Spokesperson KCETA), T. Hirth (Vicepresident KIT), E. Aprile (U Columbia, Awardee), L. Baudis (U Zürich, Laudatio), M. Mühlleitner (Co-Spokesperson KCETA), I. Langbein (Management KCETA)
KIT / Sandra Göttisheim

The Julius Wess Award 2022 of the KIT Center Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics (KCETA) of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) was presented on December 16, 2022 to the renowned astroparticle physicist Elena Aprile, Professor of Physics at Columbia University, New York. She receives the award in recognition of her many years of pioneering scientific achievements in the field of the search for dark matter, in particular the development of highly sensitive detectors.

Professor Elena Aprile is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. Since 2002, she has been the spokesperson of the international XENON Dark Matter Collaboration, which she initiated and in which KIT is also involved.

More information on the award ceremony (indico)

More information on Elena Aprile

See also the KIT news