Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Julius Wess Award 2017

Presentation of the Julius Wess award 2017 to Prof. Francis Halzen, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Prof. Francis Halzen © EL PAIS/BERNARDO PÉREZ (www.elpais.com)
Prof. Francis Halzen © EL PAIS/BERNARDO PÉREZ (www.elpais.com)
 Prof. Marc Weber, Prof. Elisa Resconi, Prof. Francis Halzen, Prof. Oliver Kraft (f.l.t.r.)
f.l.t.r.: Prof. Marc Weber, Prof. Elisa Resconi, Prof. Francis Halzen, Prof. Oliver Kraft (© DESY)

With great pleasure we awarded Prof. Francis Halzen the 2017 Julius Wess Award in recognition of his outstanding scientific achievements in the field of astroparticle physics and his leading role within the international IceCube experiment.

Francis Halzen was born in 1944 in Belgium and studied physics at Catholic University of Leuven, where he received his doctorate in 1969. Since 1972 he teaches at University of Wisconsin-Madison, since 1987 as Gregory Breit Distinguished Professor and since 1991 as Hilldale Professor.

Francis Halzen is a superior scientist with a broad range of research activities. He started his career as theoretical particle physicist and contributed significantly to the understanding of QCD scattering processes. Later he expanded his field of research by doing theoretical and experimental astroparticle physics, where he has been one of the leading scientists for several decades, especially regarding the fields of cosmic rays and neutrino physics. Early on in his scientific career he suggested the existence of high-energy neutrinos coming from cosmic sources like for example supernovae.

Francis Halzen pushed forward the realization of his pioneering visions with greatest energy. So he initiated the construction of the neutrino detector AMANDA in the southern polar ice and supported very successfully the significantly bigger subsequent experiment IceCube at the South Pole. He succeeded in motivating numerous top-level researchers to collaborate and to ensure sufficient financial resources. IceCube detects high-energy neutrinos within approximately one cubic kilometer of massive ice by determining Cherenkov radiation with highly sensitive photo multipliers. Since 2001 Francis Halzen is spokesperson of the collaboration.

The most important result of the IceCube research is the groundbreaking evidence of high-energy neutrinos of 1015 eV = PeV energies in the year 2013, originating of unknown sources outside of our galaxy. This discovery was appreciated 2013 with the Breakthrough of the Year Award of the Physics World magazine and motivated the design and development of even bigger neutrino telescopes, with KIT being part of it. Another result of this research is the lack of high-energy neutrinos from strong pulses of gamma radiation, so-called radiation bursts, from far off objects, possibly merging neutron stars. This finding limits significantly the possible explanations for the nature of these enigmatic objects.

Francis Halzen received numerous awards and honors, like 2006 the Helmholtz-Preis of the Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, the 2015 Balzan Prize for Astroparticle Physics and in the same year the EPS HEPP Prize.  He is honorary doctorate of the universities of Uppsala (2005) and Ghent (2013) and external member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and the Arts.

 

Press Release of KIT

Details about the presentation of the award on April 20, 2018

More information about the Julius Wess Award

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Julius Wess-Preis 2017

Verleihung des Julius Wess-Preises 2017 an Prof. Francis Halzen, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Prof. Francis Halzen © EL PAIS/BERNARDO PÉREZ (www.elpais.com)
Prof. Francis Halzen © EL PAIS/BERNARDO PÉREZ (www.elpais.com)
 Prof. Marc Weber, Prof. Elisa Resconi, Prof. Francis Halzen, Prof. Oliver Kraft (v.l.n.r.)
v.l.n.r.: Prof. Marc Weber, Prof. Elisa Resconi, Prof. Francis Halzen, Prof. Oliver Kraft (© DESY)

In Anerkennung seiner herausragenden wissenschaftlichen Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Astroteilchenphysik und seiner führenden Rolle im internationalen Experiment IceCube wurde Prof. Francis Halzen der Julius Wess-Preis 2017 verliehen.

Francis Halzen wurde 1944 in Belgien geboren und studierte an der Katholischen Universität Löwen Physik, wo er 1969 promovierte. Seit 1972 lehrt er an der Universität von Wisconsin-Madison und ist dort seit 1987 Gregory Breit Distinguished Professor und seit 1991 Hilldale Professor.

Francis Halzen ist ein überragender Wissenschaftler mit einem breiten Forschungsspektrum. Er begann seine Karriere als theoretischer Teilchenphysiker und trug wesentlich zum Verständnis von Streuprozessen im Rahmen der QCD bei. Später erweiterte er sein Forschungsgebiet auf die theoretische und experimentelle Astroteilchenphysik, wo er seit mehreren Jahrzehnten zu den führenden Wissenschaftlern insbesondere auf dem Gebiet der kosmischen Strahlung und der Neutrinophysik zählt. Schon früh in seiner wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn vertrat er die Hypothese der Existenz von Hochenergie-Neutrinos aus kosmischen Quellen wie zum Beispiel von Supernovae.

Die Realisierung seiner wegweisenden Visionen hat Francis Halzen mit größter Energie vorangetrieben. So initiierte er den Bau des Neutrinodetektors AMANDA im südlichen Polareis und setzte sich äußerst erfolgreich für das deutlich größere Folgeprojekt IceCube am Südpol ein. Es gelang ihm, zahlreiche Spitzenforscher zur Mitarbeit zu motivieren und eine ausreichende Finanzierung sicherzustellen. IceCube detektiert Hochenergie-Neutrinos in rund einem Kubikkilometer Eis durch den Nachweis von im Eis hervorgerufener Cherenkov-Strahlung mit hochempfindlichen Photonenvervielfachern. Francis Halzen ist seit 2001 der Sprecher der Kollaboration.

Das wichtigste Resultat der IceCube-Forschung ist der bahnbrechende Nachweis von Hochenergie-Neutrinos bei 1015 eV = PeV Energien im Jahr 2013, die aus noch unbekannten Quellen außerhalb unserer Galaxie stammen. Diese Entdeckung wurde 2013 durch den Breakthrough of the Year Award der Zeitschrift Physics World gewürdigt und motivierte die Planung und Entwicklung noch größerer Neutrino-Teleskope, an denen auch das KIT beteiligt ist. Ein weiteres Ergebnis dieser Forschung ist das Fehlen von Hochenergie-Neutrinos aus starken Pulsen von Gammastrahlung, sogenannten Strahlungsausbrüchen, von weit entfernten Objekten, möglicherweise verschmelzenden Neutronensternen. Dieser Befund schränkt die Erklärungsmöglichkeiten für die Natur dieser rätselhaften Objekte stark ein.

Francis Halzen hat zahlreiche Preise und Ehrungen erhalten, so 2006 den Helmholtz-Preis der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, 2015 den Balzan-Preis und im gleichen Jahr den Preis für Astroteilchenphysik und Kosmologie der Europäischen Physikalischen Gesellschaft. Er ist Ehrendoktor der Universitäten von Uppsala (2005) und Ghent (2013) und Auswärtiges Mitglied der Belgischen Academy of Science KVAB.

 

Presseinformation des KIT

Details zur Preisverleihung am 20. April 2018

Mehr Informationen über den Julius Wess-Preis