Home | deutsch | Legals | KIT

Research Activities

Research and education of the KIT Center Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics (KCETA) are funded by the State of Baden-Württemberg, the Helmholtz Association, the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF), the German Research Association (DFG) and the European Union (EU). KCETA’s activities are in the following fields of research:

Cosmic Rays

Auger

The Pierre Auger Observatory on an area of 3000 square kilometres in the Argentine Pampa consists of more than 1600 autonomous tanks: In highly pure water, energetic particles produce light flashes. In addition, four stations with 27 telescopes at the edge of the detector field observe the light tracks of cosmic particle showers. Underground muon detectors and an array of radio antenna stations complete the experimental set-up.

At lower energies experimental efforts in measuring cosmic rays were performed by the experiment KASCADE-Grande on KIT’s northern campus, where still the data is being analysed and prepared for public use via the web interface KCDC. Other activities in this research field concern cosmic ray measurements from space (JEM-EUSO) and in the Siberian taiga (TUNKA-REX) as well as the air shower simulation package CORSIKA.

 

Dark Matter

Edelweiss

We search for galactic Dark Matter by looking for collisions of WIMPs (weakly interacting massive particles) in germanium crystals. In the EDELWEISS experiment, up to 40 Ge detectors of 800 g each are cooled down to extremely low temperatures (20 milli-Kelvin). If a WIMP collides with a germanium nucleus, energy is deposited which leads to a temperature rise of the crystal of a few micro-Kelvin in coincidence with a charge signal. Requiring a characteristic ratio of both signals, background from radioactivity can be suppressed by more than 5 orders of magnitude.

EDELWEISS is a European project operated in the LSM underground lab. With its cutting-edge detector technology, it is one of the leading experiments in the international quest searching for Dark Matter particles. With EURECA, this technology will be expanded to a target mass in the ton range in a world-wide cooperation with the US-Canadian SuperCDMS collaboration.

 

Indirect Dark Matter Searches

Indirect search for dark matter

Dark Matter makes up more than 80% of all matter in the universe. Assuming the Dark Matter particles to be thermal relics from the Big Bang, we only know that they must be WIMPs (Weakly Interacting Massive Particles). Such particles only exist in extensions of the Standard Model of Particle Physics, like Supersymmetry. They are predicted to annihilate into equal amounts of matter and antimatter. Such annihilations are similar to electron-positron annihilation, as studied in detail at accelerators, so the signatures are known, if WIMP annihilation really exists. To search for antimatter production from WIMP annihilation, one needs to have a magnetic spectrometer with redundant particle identification in space, since antimatter particles would annihilate in the earth atmosphere before reaching a detector on earth.

Such a state-of-the art particle detector is the AMS-02 detector
on the International Space Station (ISS). It identifies cosmic rays with energies up to the TeV range. The detector was built by an international collaboration of about 60 institutes from 16 different countries under the leadership of Nobel prize laureate Samuel Ting. In Germany the RWTH Aachen and KIT were the prime contributors to the transition radiation detector of AMS-02. First results were released in 2013.

 

Quantum Field Theory

The fundamental building-blocks of matter, elementary particles, are described by the so-called standard model which provides information about their properties and the forces acting between them.

The research groups at KIT which work in theoretical particle physics perform complex perturbative calculations and non-perturbative considerations within the standard model or of hypothetical theories of New Physics in order to test the quantum nature of the theory and to extract fundamental constants of nature.

 

Experimental Collider Physics

Teams from KIT research at the world’s most powerful particle accelerators: the high luminosity electron-positron collider Super KEKb at KEK laboratory in Tsukuba, Japan, at the Tevatron Collider at Fermilab (USA) and at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at CERN, Switzerland. At the LHC which started operation in 2009, conditions are generated for reactions that took place about 10-12 seconds after the Big Bang. The CMS detector is one of four large detectors installed at the LHC to investigate these reactions.

Teams from KSETA member institute IEKP have contributed since 1995 to the construction of the detector and to the data analysis which culminated in 2012 in the discovery of the Higgs Boson said to be responsible for the generation of mass. With this discovery, the Standard Model of particles and forces has been completed. During the ongoing shutdown period up to 2015, the LHC and its experiments are preparing for a new data taking run at almost twice the energy. The aim of the forthcoming runs is mostly to measure accurately the properties of the Higgs Boson and its interactions with other particles and to search for signs of physics beyond the Standard Model such as Dark Matter particles which may be produced at the LHC.

 

Theoretical Collider Physics

Information about the forces acting between elementary particles is obtained by experiments, in which particles are scattered at very high energies. Highest energies and, hence, smallest distances are reached at modern colliders, such as the LHC at Geneva. Theoretical collider physics makes predictions for these experiments and helps interpreting the data.

 

Flavour Physics

Belle 2

Matter comes in flavours providing a rich spectrum of phenomena to be studied. Doing this with highest precision for processes, that the standard theory of particle physics suppresses or forbids, allows to find hints for physics beyond the known and for mass scales beyond any direct reach. Especially the subtle breaking of symmetries and processes with quantum loops are promising. But only if theoretical wit and experimental finesse are optimally combined to assemble the splintered and scattered hints to a full mosaic of the fundamental picture.

The Belle II experiment will take data with an integrated luminosity 1000 times that of its closest competitor LHCb.

 

Neutrino Physics

Neutrinos play a key role for our understanding of the Universe at the largest scales, as truly enormous numbers of neutrinos have been produced in the Big Bang. Their investigation touches and unifies fundamental questions of particle physics and cosmology.

To understand the role of these weakly interacting particles one has to measure the uncharted mass scale and mass hierarchy of neutrinos. The Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment KATRIN will be the first worldwide to measure directly and model independent the mass of neutrinos with a sufficient sensitivity to determine their role as cosmic architects. But also in particle physics measured neutrino properties like KATRINs mass scale measurement provide unique access to (novel) extensions of the standard model.

 

Computational Physics (GridKa)

The research fields of particle and astroparticle physics are not feasible without the use of high-performance computers and distributed high throughput computing infrastructures, like the Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG).

GridKa at SCC, one of 11 Tier-1 centres of WLCG, is a major hub for computing and data distribution of all four of the LHC experiments as well as other HEP experiments and Auger. In addition to huge amounts of storage capacity and compute power, GridKa provides highly available Grid services used by the various experiment collaborations.

To optimize the use of computing resources, KIT develops effective algorithms and optimized software to solve physical problems in particle and astroparticle physics.

 

Technology Development

Already at the startup of the largest particle accelerator of the world, the LHC at CERN, Geneva, scientists of KCETA are working on the development of novel detectors for the next accelerator generation. It is aimed at increasing the resistance of the detector against radiation damage and at increasing the solid angle acceptance by using new cooling techniques.

For the KATRIN experiment unprecedented high vacuum systems and large superconducting magnet systems are designed and brought into operation. Locating the KATRIN experiment at KIT allows to make use of the unique expertise of the on-site Tritium Laboratory Karlsruhe (TLK), which is the only scientific laboratory equipped with a closed tritium cycle and licensed to handle the required amount of tritium."

Detection of radio signals from air showers (LOPES) opens up new promising options in the investigation of cosmic radiation. The method is optimized in prototype experiments.

 

Beschleunigerforschung an ANKA

ANKA

On the area of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, the Synchrotron Radiation Facility ANKA is located in a hall of 5000 m2. There, electrons are accelerated in a storage ring to the energy of 2.5 GeV.
ANKA is equipped with beamlines, which offer facilities for analytical research with synchrotron radiation in the spectral region between infrared/Terahertz and hard X-ray energies. Activities include hard X-ray lithographic microstructuring, spectroscopy, microscopy, diffraction, and imaging.

The ANKA Accelerator Group is responsible for operation, maintainance and development of the ANKA accelerator complex. This complex consists of the storage ring and its injector chain: e-gun, microtron and booster synchrotron. The Accelerator Development Program covers a variety of topics from the fields of single and multi-particle beam dynamics and optics. It includes design and study of new lattices for the storage ring as well as studies of new modes of operation like the dedicated low alpha mode for the production of short bunches.

ANKA also offers a linac-based accelerator test facility called FLUTE.

 

Future Activities

The scientific topics are continuously developed. The driving forces in this dynamical process are the scientific curiosity as well as the program cycles of the funding programs mentioned above. Presently, we discuss as possible new activities the multi-messenger astroparticle physics with cosmic rays, the extended and intensified search for Dark Matter in direct collision experiments and at accelerators, the constitution of the theoretical astroparticle physics , the close interconnection of theoretical and experimental studies by the evaluation of LHC data and the application of GRID computing.

Forschungsthemen

Home | english | Impressum | KIT

Forschungsthemen

Forschung und Lehre im KIT-Centrum Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik werden durch das Land Baden-Württemberg, die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, das BMBF, die DFG und die Europäische Union gefördert. KCETA ist in folgenden Forschungsfeldern aktiv:

 

Kosmische Strahlung

Auger

Das Pierre-Auger-Observatorium, 3000 Quadratkilometer groß und in der argentinischen Pampa gelegen, besteht aus mehr als 1600 autonomen Tanks: In hochreinem Wasser produzieren energetische Teilchen Lichtblitze. Zusätzlich beobachten vier Stationen mit 27 Teleskopen am Rand des Detektorfeldes Lichtspuren, die von den kosmischen Teilchenschauern in der Atmosphäre erzeugt werden. Untergrund-Myondetektoren und ein Feld von Radioantennenstationen vervollständigen das Experiment.

Mit dem KASCADE-Grande Experiment am Campus Nord des KIT wurde kosmische Strahlung niedriger Energie gemessen. Gegenwärtig werden noch die gewonnenen Daten analysiert und für den öffentlichen Gebrauch via einem Web-Portal („KCDC“) vorbereitet. Weitere Aktivitäten auf diesem Forschungsgebiet betreffen die Messung von kosmischer Strahlung aus dem Weltraum (JEM-EUSO) und in der sibirischen Taiga (Tunka-Rex), sowie das weltweit verbreitete Luftschauer-Simulationsprogramm CORSIKA.

 

Dunkle Materie

Dark Matter

Wir suchen nach dunkler Materie mit Hilfe der Streuung von WIMPs (weakly interacting massive particles) in Germaniumkristallen. Im EDELWEISS-Experiment werden bis zu 40 Ge Detektoren von je 800g auf extrem niedrige Temperaturen (20 Millikelvin) heruntergekühlt. Bei einer Kollision eines WIMPs mit einem Germaiumkern führt die Rückstoßenergie des Kerns zu einem Temperaturanstieg des Kristalls von einigen Mikrokelvin und gleichzeitig zu einem Ladungssignal. Aufgrund des charakteristischen Verhältnisses von Wärme und Ionisation können Elektron-Rückstöße, wie sie durch Radioaktivität verursacht werden, um mehr als fünf Größenordnungen reduziert werden.

EDELWEISS ist ein europäisches Projekt, das im LSM Untergrundlabor betrieben wird. Mit seiner Detektortechnologie ist es eines der führenden Experimente der internationalen Suche nach dunkler Materie. Mit EURECA wird diese Technologie innerhalb einer weltweiten Kooperation mit der US-Kanadischen SuperCDMS-Kollaboration eingesetzt, um Gesamtdetektormassen bis zu einer Tonne zu realisieren.

 

Indirekte Suche nach Dunkler Materie

AMS-02 detector

Die Materie im Universum besteht zu mehr als 80% aus Dunkler Materie. Wenn man annimmt, dass die Dunkle-Materie-Teilchen thermische Relikte des Urknalls sind, wissen wir lediglich, dass sie WIMPs (Schwach interagierende Masseteilchen) sein müssen. Solche Teilchen existieren nur in Erweitertungen des Standardmodells der Teilchenphysik, z.B. der Supersymmetrie. Man nimmt an, dass solche WIMPs zu gleichen Teilen in Materie und Antimaterie annihilieren. Solche Annihilationen sind ähnlich der bekannten Elektron-Positron-Annihilation, wie sie auch im Detail in Beschleunigern untersucht werden. Falls die WIMP-Annihilationen also existieren, sind deren Signaturen klar definiert.

Um Antimaterieerzeugung durch WIMP-Annihilation zu finden, braucht man ein Magnetspektrometer mit redundanter Teilchenidentifikation im Weltraum, da Antimaterieteilchen in der Erdatmosphäre vernichtet würden, bevor sie einen Detektor am Boden erreichen.

Ein solcher komplexer Teilchendetektor ist der AMS-02-Detektor auf der Raumstation ISS. Er identifiziert kosmische Strahlung mit Energien bis zum TeV-Bereich. Der Detektor wurde von einer internationalen Kollaboration von etwa 60 Instituten aus 16 Ländern unter der Leitung des Nobelpreisträgers Samuel Ting gebaut. In Deutschland tragen vor allem die RWTH Aachen und das KIT mit dem Übergangsstrahlungsdetektor bei. Erste Ergebnisse von AMS-02 wurden 2013 veröffentlicht.

 

Quantenfeldtheorie

Die fundamentalen Bausteine der Materie, die Elementarteilchen, werden durch das sogenannte Standardmodell beschrieben: Es gibt Auskunft über ihre Eigenschaften und die zwischen ihnen wirkenden Kräfte.

Die Forschungsgruppen am KIT, die in der theoretischen Teilchenphysik arbeiten, führen komplexe pertubative Berechnungen und nicht-pertubative Betrachtungen im Standardmodell durch. Außerdem beschäftigen sie sich mit Theorien, die Naturphänomene erklären können, die nicht im Standardmodell enthalten sind. Damit soll beispielsweise die Quantennatur der Theorie überprüft und fundamentale Naturkonstanten bestimmt werden.

 

Experimentelle Kolliderphysik

Das KIT ist an den weltweit leistungsfähigsten Teilchenbeschleunigern tätig: dem Hochluminositäts-Collider Super KEKb am KEK in Tsukuba, Japan, an dem Tevatron Collider am Fermilab (USA) und dem Large Hadron Collider (LHC) am CERN, Schweiz. Im LHC, der 2009 seinen Betrieb aufgenommen hat, werden Bedingungen für Reaktionen erzeugt, die zu Zeiten von etwa 10-12 Sekunden nach dem Urknall stattgefunden hatten. Der CMS-Detektor ist einer von vier großen Detektoren, die am LHC installiert wurden, um diese Reaktionen zu studieren.

Arbeitsgruppen des KCETA Mitgliedinstitutes IEKP haben seit 1995 am Bau des Detektors und der Datenanalyse teilgenommen, die 2012 mit der Entdeckung des Higgs-Bosons einen vorläufigen Höhepunkt erzielt hatte. Während der noch bis 2015 andauernden Umbauperiode werden der LHC und seine Detektoren auf eine neue Datennahme bei fast doppelter Energie vorbereitet. Das vorrangige Ziel ist es, die Eigenschaften des Higgs-Bosons genau zu vermessen und nach neuen Phänomenen jenseits vom Standardmodell zu suchen wie z. B. nach Teilchen Dunkler Materie, die u. U. am LHC produziert werden.

 

Theoretische Kolliderphysik

Informationen über die Kräfte zwischen Elementarteilchen werden durch Experimente gewonnen, bei denen Teilchen mit sehr hohen Energien gestreut werden. Die höchsten Energien und damit die kleinsten Abstände werden an den modernen Kollidern wie dem LHC in Genf erreicht. Die theoretische Kolliderphysik macht Vorhersagen für diese Experimente und hilft bei der Interpretation der Daten.

 

Flavourphysik

Belle 2

Materie existiert in unterschiedlichen Flavours (“Geschmacksrichtungen”) und bietet ein reichhaltiges Spektrum von zu untersuchenden Phänomenen. Wenn dies mit höchster Präzision durchgeführt wird, kann man Hinweise auf die Physik jenseits des Bekannten und für Masseskalen jenseits jeglicher direkter Erreichbarkeit finden. Besonders das nuancierte Brechen von Symmetrien und Prozesse mit Quantenschleifen sind vielversprechend. Dies jedoch nur, wenn theoretischer Verstand und experimentelle Finesse optimal zusammenarbeiten, um die zersplitterten und verstreuten Hinweise zu einem vollständigen Mosaik des zu Grunde liegenden Bildes zusammenzufügen.

Das Belle II Experiment wird Daten mit einer integrierten Luminosität nehmen, die 1000 mal höher ist als bei seinem nächster Mitbewerber LHCb.

 

Neutrinophysik

Neutrinos spielen eine Schlüsselrolle in unserem Verständnis des Universums zum Beispiel bei großräumigen Strukturbildungen, weil enorme Mengen an Neutrinos beim Urknall produziert wurden und auch heute noch existent sind. Ihre Untersuchung berührt und vereint fundamentale Fragen der Teilchenphysik und Kosmologie.

Um die Rolle dieser schwach wechselwirkenden Teilchen zu verstehen, muss man ihre bislang zu ungenau erfassten Massen und deren Hierarchie messen. Das Karlsruher Tritium Neutrino Experiment KATRIN wird das weltweit erste Experiment sein, das die Masse von Neutrinos mit einer ausreichenden Empfindlichkeit direkt und modellunabhängig misst, um ihre Rolle als kosmische Architekten festzulegen. Aber auch für die Teilchenphysik bieten die von KATRIN untersuchten Neutrinoeigenschaften wie beispielsweise ihre Masse einzigartige Ansatzpunkte zu (neuartigen) Erweiterungen des Standardmodells.

 

Computergestützte Physik

Die Forschungen in der Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik sind nicht durchführbar ohne die Verwendung von Hochleistungscomputern und verteilten hoch-durchsatz Computer-Infrastrukturen wie dem Worldwide LHC Computing Grid (WLCG).

GridKa am SCC, eines der 11 Tier-1 Zentren des WLCG, ist ein bedeutender Knotenpunkt für Berechnungen und Datenverteilung von allen vier LHC-Experimenten sowie anderen HEP Experimenten und Auger. Zusätzlich zu riesigen Speicherkapazitäten und Rechenleistung stellt GridKa hochverfügbare Grid-Dienste bereit, die von verschiedenen Experiment-Kollaborationen verwendet werden.

Um die Verwendung von Computer-Ressourcen zu optimieren, entwickelt das KIT effektive Algorithmen und optimiert Software, um physikalische Problemstellungen der Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik zu lösen.

 

 

Technologieentwicklung

Technology delvelopment

Schon zum Zeitpunkt der Inbetriebnahme des größten Teilchenbeschleunigers der Welt, des LHC am CERN in Genf, arbeiten Wissenschaftler des KCETA an der Entwicklung von neuen Detektoren für die nächste Beschleunigergeneration. Dabei geht es darum, die Detektoren resistenter gegen Strahlenschäden zu machen und durch Wahl neuer Kühltechniken die Raumwinkelakzeptanz zu vergrößern.

Für das KATRIN-Experiment werden bisher beispiellose Hochvakuumsysteme und große supraleitende Magnetsysteme entworfen und in Betrieb genommen. Der Standort des KATRIN Experiment ist das KIT, was uns die Möglichkeit gibt, die einzigartige Kompetenz des nahen Tritiumlabors Karlsruhe (TLK) zur Verfügung zu haben, das das einzige wissenschaftliche Labor ist, das mit einem geschlossenen Tritiumkreislauf ausgestattet ist und die Zulassung hat, mit der erforderliche Menge Tritium zu arbeiten.

Mit dem Nachweis von Radiosignalen aus Luftschauern werden dem Studium der kosmischen Strahlung viel versprechende Wege eröffnet. In prototypischen Experimenten wird die Methode optimiert.

 

Beschleunigerforschung an ANKA

ANKA

Auf dem Gelände des Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, befindet sich die Synchrotronstrahlungsanlage ANKA in einer ca. 5000 m² Halle. Dort werden Elektronen in einem Speicherring auf nahezu Lichtgeschwindigkeit (2.5 GeV) beschleunigt. Um die produzierte Strahlung nutzen zu können, sind am Speicherring Strahlrohre (Beamlines) angebaut, die in optische Hütten führen, wo der für das entsprechende Experiment benötigte spektrale Wellenlängenbereich und Strahlenquerschnitt aus dem Synchrotronlicht heraus selektiert wird. In den Messstationen sind moderne Analysegeräte für den harten und weichen Röntgenbereich sowie den UV, sichtbaren und Infrarotbereich vorhanden.

Die Beschleuniger-Gruppe an ANKA ist für den Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung des Beschleunigers verantwortlich. Dies umfasst den Speicherring, sowie den Booster. Die Beschleunigerforschung an ANKA umfasst verschiedenste Bereiche innerhalb „single and multi-particle beam dynamics and optics“. Sie beinhaltet die Gestaltung  und die Entwicklung neuer optischer Gitter für Speicherringe, als auch die Arbeit an neuen Betriebsarten wie dem „dedicated low alpha mode for the production of short bunches.

Desweiteren arbeitet ANKA an der Entwicklung einer Testanlage (FLUTE) für Linearbeschleuniger.

 

Projekte in der Vorbereitung

Die wissenschaftlichen Themen werden ständig weiter entwickelt. Taktgeber in diesem dynamischen Prozess sind die wissenschaftliche Neugier, sowie die Programmzyklen der in KCETA angesiedelten Förderprogramme. Derzeit werden die Multi-Messenger-Astroteilchenphysik mit kosmischer Strahlung, die intensivierte und erweiterte Suche nach Dunkler Materie in direkten Stoßexperimenten und an Beschleunigern, der Aufbau der Astroteilchentheorie, die enge Verknüpfung theoretischer und experimenteller Studien bei der Auswertung der LHC-Daten und der Einsatz des Grid Computing als mögliche neue Aktivitäten diskutiert.

Forschungsthemen