Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Julius Wess Award 2014

Prof. Dr. Arkady Vainshtein
Prof. Dr. Arkady Vainshtein
Prof. Dr. Arkady Vainshtein
Wess Award Ceremony

The KIT Center for Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics (KCETA) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) awarded the Julius Wess Prize 2014 to Professor Dr. Arkady Vainshtein, a Russian-born theoretical physicist who holds the Gloria Lubkin Professorship at the University of Minnesota. Arkady Vainshtein received the prize as one of the most influential theoretical particle physicists of the second half of the twentieth century. After the award ceremony he gave a very interesting lecture on his scientific work on quantum field theory

Vainshtein, born in 1942, attended the University of Novosibirsk and the Budker Institute for Nuclear Physics in Novosibirsk, where he graduated in 1964 and received his Russian doctorate in 1968 (equivalent to a habilitation in the West). He remained as a scientist at the Budker Institute, where he worked with Valentin Zakharov and Mikhail Shifman from the Institute of Theoretical and Experimental Physics (ITEP) in Moscow in the 1970s and 1980s. From 1990 he became Shifman Professor at the University of Minnesota, in 1998 he became a US citizen. He has been a Fellow of the American Physical Society since 1997.

Vainshtein is best known for his work with Zakharov and Shifman on non-disturbance theoretical aspects of quantum chromodynamics (QCD), for example for the QCD sum rules named after them. Later he also researched non-leptonic weak decays and supersymmetric nonabolic gauge theories. He also studied QCD contributions to the calculation of precision measurements in quantum electrodynamics such as the abnormal magnetic moment of the muon.

In 1999 he received the Sakurai Prize together with Zakharov and Shifman. In 2005 he received the Pomerantschuk Prize of the ITEP.

The Julius Wess Prize commemorates Professor Dr. Julius Wess, who during his twenty years at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology has worked tirelessly for theoretical and experimental elementary particle physics and during this time has published works of outstanding international significance. Field-theoretical terms such as the Wess-Zumino effect or the formulation of the first supersymmetric quantum field theory, the Wess-Zumino model, will always remain associated with its name. The research prize is awarded to elementary particle or astroparticle physicists for outstanding experimental or theoretical scientific achievements that broaden and deepen our understanding of the fundamental laws of nature.

Download press release as pdf

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Julius Wess-Preis 2014

Prof. Dr. Arkady Vainshtein
Prof. Dr. Arkady Vainshtein
Prof. Dr. Arkady Vainshtein
Übergabe des Wess-Preises

Das KIT-Zentrum Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik (KCETA) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) verlieh in einer Festveranstaltung am 5. Dezember 2014 den Julius Wess-Preis 2014. Preisträger war der russischstämmige US-amerikanische theoretische Physiker Professor Dr. Arkady Vainshtein, der die Gloria- Lubkin-Professur an der University of Minnesota innehat. Arkady Vainshtein erhielt den Preis als einer der einflussreichsten theoretischen Teilchenphysiker der zweiten Hälfte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts.
Arkady Vainshtein hielt im Anschluss an die Preisverleihung einen sehr interessanten Vortrag über seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zur Quantenfeldtheorie.

Vainshtein, Jahrgang 1942, besuchte die Universität Novosibirsk und das Budker-Institut für Kernphysik in Novosibirsk, wo er 1964 seinen Abschluss machte und 1968 seinen russischen Doktortitel erhielt (entspricht im Westen einer Habilitation). Er blieb als Wissenschaftler am Budker Institut, wo er in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren mit  Valentin Zakharov und Mikhail Shifman vom Institut für Theoretische und Experimentelle Physik (ITEP) in Moskau zusammenarbeitete. Ab 1990 wurde er wie Shifman Professor an der University of Minnesota, 1998 wurde er US-Staatsbürger. Er ist seit 1997 Fellow der American Physical Society.

Vainshtein ist vor allem für seine Arbeiten mit Zakharov und Shifman über nichtstörungstheoretische Aspekte der Quantenchromodynamik (QCD) bekannt, zum Beispiel für die nach ihnen benannten QCD-Summenregeln. Später forschte er auch zu nicht-leptonischen schwachen Zerfällen und supersymmetrischen nichtabelschen Eichtheorien. Außerdem untersuchte er QCD-Beiträge zur Berechnung von Präzisionsmessungen in der Quantenelektrodynamik wie dem anomalen magnetischen Moment des Myons.

1999 erhielt er mit Zakharov und Shifman den Sakurai-Preis. 2005 erhielt er den Pomerantschuk-Preis des ITEP.

Der Julius Wess-Preis erinnert an Professor Dr. Julius Wess, der sich während seiner zwanzigjährigen Tätigkeit am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie unermüdlich für die theoretische und experimentelle Elementarteilchenphysik eingesetzt und während dieser Zeit Arbeiten von international herausragender Bedeutung veröffentlicht hat. Feldtheoretische Begriffe wie die Wess-Zumino-Wirkung oder die Formulierung der ersten supersymmetrischen Quantenfeldtheorie, des Wess-Zumino-Modells, werden für immer mit seinem Namen verbunden bleiben. Der Forschungspreis wird an Elementarteilchen- oder Astroteilchenphysiker für herausragende experimentelle oder theoretische wissenschaftliche Leistungen verliehen, die unser Verständnis der fundamentalen Naturgesetze erweitern und vertiefen.

Download Pressemitteilung als pdf